Posted in Uncategorized

Art Journal Randomness

img_3337

I have not played in my art journal in over a month! I have no idea what is supposed to go into one and am not very good at art and do not know what most of the stuff is for or how to use it. In the pic above I was playing with some cute napkins I found at Dollar Tree and with mod podge and gesso. Now I have no idea how to use any of these things really. So I just used mod podge to glue the napkin down ans seal it on one page and the other I did the same and put gesso over it. The gesso I haveis thin and liquidy and I recently learned that there are different consistencies for gesso. I tried to lighten the appearance of the image on the second page and reversed the image. It kind of worked. Then I stamped an image that inspired me at that moment and I was done. I also found that gesso does not work well as a glue and that is why I used the mod podge.

Next came the 4th of July and I received some cool foil temporary tattoos from one of my pen pals. After my kids too the ones they wanted, I had no idea what to do with the rest. Then curiosity hit me and I wondered if temporary tattoos would stick to paper. So I brought out my art journal and began experimenting. Low-and- behold…they stuck and transferred better than I thought they would. This is the result!img_3340

I added a bit of glue and glitter and ta-da! (Never mind the writing…I am still waiting for the whole brush lettering to click for me.)

Next up, I found a cool deal on Amazon for some water color pencils. I bought a set of 50 for less than $10. I honestly don’t know if that really is a good deal but it sounded like one and the reviews on them were good so I bought them. I am anxious and nervous to try them. I do not have water color paper so I do not know how I am going to use them yet. I am going to have to use what I have until I can get some watercolor paper, ( it is so expensive!) So I will probably end up using them  on paper covered with gesso since that’s what I have. Here they are…img_3391

has anyone used these before or have any suggestions as to how I can use them? Okay, well, that’s it for today. Still gotta figure out how to finish my craft room organizing. So far I have been shoving everything in my craft room closet while I wait for my hubby to build me shelves in there.  In the meantime, it looks like this…img_3422

A disaster huh? Yes, I cross my fingers I don’t get crushed by an avalanche whenever I open the door. I am saving up to buy the stuff for the shelves. Wish me luck! OH! And I added a new page to my planner…img_3416

I am hoping it will encourage me to get back to reading more. So far I have only read these book this year…rather terrible for me. I love to read and have not been doing so. Hopefully I can keep up on it!

Take care and enjoy the rest of your weekend! Enjoy life’s sweet moments and have fun!

Leave a Reply

