Posted in Uncategorized

Words

IMG_3032

Words can do so much. Often times people don’t realize just how powerful words are. They can heal and they can hurt. I know I am guilty of not thinking before I speak. I have been playing in my art journal and words came to mind and I made two entries about them. One is of uplifting words and words that have made me feel good. This was hard for me because I am not a very confident person. IMG_3030

I had a hard time thinking of positive words that I have heard used to describe me so I included words that I could use to describe others or would like to hear. Like I said, I am not a very confident person. I also included some of my favorite words like “dream” and “believe”.  I hear my daughter put herself down a lot and it breaks my heart every time she does. I find it hard to find ways to uplift her spirits and self-esteem when mine own is so low. How do you do that? I try to encourage her but I admit I do not set a good example of confidence for her. I do not put myself down in front of her or put her down but kids pick up on so much! My children are very sensitive and pick up on the slightest changes in my moods. Anyway, I hope to learn how to help her build her confidence and encourage her to be herself and be proud of who she is.

The next page is of words that have and do still hurt me. These words run through my mind a lot. They are like a constant echo in my mind. I could have easily filled the page with so much more, who knows, maybe even the rest of the book. However, I only put down the ones that were loudest in my mind. IMG_3031

I am not shy about my mental illness and have come to accept it as a part of who I am. It does not define me, but is a part of me. Yes, I am a bi-polar schizophrenic but you do not need to call me psycho or crazy in a derogatory manner! Words hurt! I may make light of my illness at times but to put me down or anyone battling mental illness when you have no idea what it is like to go through the horrors of your own mind, please take a moment to think before you speak and at least attempt to be understanding. Sorry, rant over. My point is, words are so powerful. They can make a person’s day and they can also destroy it. Please be kind, and think before you speak and remember everyone is fighting a battle you know nothing about. Please be kind and encourage one another. Have a good day and remember you are all BEAUTIFUL, AMAZING and STRONG!

4 thoughts on “Words

  1. Kind Loving Considerate Sincere Attractive Inspiring Forgiving Creative Dependable Generous Funny Honest Intelligent Trustworthy Smart
    Rose, these are the words that come to mind when I think of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What’s so frustrating about words it’s that the negative ones have so much more power than the positive ones. Why is it that our brains seem to scream… Or continuously whisper to us insults we maybe heard when we were teenagers, but instantly forget or dismiss the compliment we heard yesterday? That’s not very fair.
    I think you’re cool, thoughtful, creative, open, encouraging and lovely, and am pleased and excited to have the opportunity to get to know you better and become your friend. Hope you have a refreshing day with many more positive words coming your way xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Julia! You are so sweet and kind. I agree that negative words are so much more powerful than positive words and it is truly frustrating that the negative ones are the ones that stick with us forever. I also find it frustrating that we are so quick to find negative words to use towards someone and it takes a bit longer to find positive ones. Words are so much more powerful than most of us give them credit for or even realize. I am looking forward to getting to know you better as well and becoming your friend too. Take care and have a wonderful day! ❤️❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

