Posted in bookreview, Uncategorized

Book Review: My Story: A Dragon’s Tale

IMG_0455

So this is a bit of a different post. It’s my first book review. My Story: A Dragon’s Tale isn’t the type of book I normally read. I am usually reading Stephen King or books that are thrillers and suspense or full of the supernatural. For some reason I wanted to read something different and was looking for a new author. I came across this book by Gordan R Heat and the cover drew me in because it reminded me of Toothless from Dreamworks “How to Train Your Dragon”. I liked the cover and the picture had me interested to see what the characters on it were about.

Before I go further, I do want to let you know that this is a digital book only available for download through Amazon. I know, I love holding a book in my hands and turning the pages too. But to be 100% honest, I have donated almost my complete book collection to the local libraries because I have moved too many times to count and there were just so many books it was just too much. Also, after thinking about it, the decision to donate them made the most sense as i am not a re-reader and they just sat there collecting dust after I finished reading them. I held on to a few though, some of my favorites. My H.P. Lovecraft collection and classics like Bram Stoker I held onto. I also donated my collection of over 1,200 books because of health reasons. My son has terrible asthma and the dust was a bit much, and well still is. (Living in AZ dust is just an issue you live with.) Anyway, if you are okay with digital books I recommend this one.

It’s a great story that took me to a faraway place with fantastic creatures, magic and a dragon. The book kept me entertained and was a welcome escape from my own mind. I don’t know how you rate books, but I decide whether or not I like a book dependent on whether or not it can get me out of my head. If a book sucks me into the story then it’s a good book by my standards. That is exactly what Gordan R Heat did. He took to me someplace else and I forgot about my anxieties, and my stresses, and my depression and my bad days and my pain and the fact that I just couldn’t drag my butt out of bed that day.

Now, this is my first book review so  I don’t know how these are supposed to be done. But I will tell you that I recommend this book. It is only $2.99 on Amazon and at that price I figured it was worth a shot and I am glad that I bought it. The story is about a dragon who is haunted by vivid dreams that call to her and who goes on a journey with a young wizard and his little companion named Twitch to discover the meaning of her dreams and what has happened to all the dragons. There are a few mishaps on their adventure and they meet another member of their misfit crew on the way to find answers. The end of the story leaves you wanting to know what happens next and those are the books I love because they keep you thinking about them. Okay, so this is long enough. If you are looking for a new read, like dragons, or just want something different, check this book out! Then please tell me what you think. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

