Posted in Uncategorized

Getting Crafty?

So today I am trying to get my craft on. First I made a trip to the craft store to get some inspiration which resulted in me coming home with plenty of stuff I don’t really need and none of the items I purchased have anything to do with what I wanted to purchase. Anyone else have that problem? I go to a craft store and very rarely leave with what I intended to purchase. I’m like I kid in a candy store and my mind gets overloaded. There are just too many options and so many things you can do! Needless to say, I got home with none of the items on my list and spent way more than my budget allowed. Oops! So I am left using what I have on hand.

I tried to get my creative mojo going and even with my purchases, could not think of anything to make. My haul consisted of a LOT of washi as I had none and am fascinated by it. I also have a thing for tags and bought so many I have idea what to do with them. I’m sure it will something will come to me. Anyway, I have been wanting to make Easter cards and have seen so many adorable ones out there. However, my current stamps consist of those from the dollar bin at Michaels and I do not have very many. About a year ago I had a major depressive episode and purged all of my stamps and craft supplies so I am having to start all over. Just about every day I kick myself for giving away my stamps. I had hundreds! Oh well. I’ll get there again. Needless to say, crafting with a limited supply of items is a challenge.

I recently signed up for a couple of kit of the month clubs so we will see if I can rebuild my supply and come up with some good ideas that way. By signing up for these clubs I hope to satisfy my need to buy craft supplies and stay on budget. I hope I succeed! Wish me luck! 😁

Anyway, back to getting my craft on. I found a couple of wooden stamps that no one wanted when I purged my supplies and some doilies I got from the dollar store ages ago. I bought some card stock today and came up with the card you see. It is my first time coloring and I had fun with it. I don’t really have a lot of colors in my Copic collection. I only have 20 markers or so. They are a bit out of my budget and I’m still new so I think I will look for other markers out there that are just as good but not as pricey. If anyone has any suggestions I’d love to hear them. I am new to card making as well. I mostly S rapbooked in the past but haven’t done either in years! You might notice my card is a bit crooked but it’s all fun.

Ok, that’s enough for now. I sat for hours just trying to come up with my little ducky card but since I made at least one thing I consider today a successful craft day 😜.

 

Enjoy life’s sweet moments!

Rose

 

4 thoughts on “Getting Crafty?

  1. I love that doily! You certainly have the knack for colouring, I use Promarkers (but they are quite expensive too) Here in the uk we have Spectrum Noirs and a home brand called Tinge. Keep colouring, I find it so theraputic x

    Like

  2. Thank you for your kind comment 😁. I love coloring but never colored stamps and found it quite fun. I find coloring therapeutic too. It is very relaxing! I am trying to learn to color with other markers than the usual crayola brand. I love the way copic markers color but they are so pricey. Thanks for mentioning what you use. I love hearing that there really are more options out there. It gives me hope that I will find some. 😜

    Like

  3. The little duck is so charming. Reminds me of the duck in old Tom and Jerry cartoons. Your colouring looks great. I think most of the colouring markers are a bit expensive, sadly. Your card looks great. Amazing what can be accomplished with limited supplies!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And that’s it! Thank you! I’ve been trying to figure out why the duck looked so familiar and what it reminded me of and you nailed it! Tom and Jerry! I love that cartoon! (Sorry about all the exclamation marks… just got a little excited 😊). Thank you for your comment. It made me smile 😁. Have a wonderful day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

